Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 1st, 2010

No one said making a living as a professional cowboy was easy.

Seth Glause is learning that with each passing day.

Glause, who is from Rock Springs, Wyo., is trying to earn his keep in the ultra-competitive PRCA as a bull and saddle bronc rider.

Glause had an up-and-down experience at the Colorado State Fair rodeo Monday night, scoring a 60 in saddle bronc and then regrouping for a solid 84 on a bull named Rockstar at the Grandstand Arena.

“I mostly ride bulls and I just do the bronc riding at a lot of the circuit rodeos,” said Glause, who is in his fourth year competing in the PRCA. “Right now, I enjoy bull riding because it is where I have been winning the most money.” In Monday’s bareback competition, Wes Stevenson of Lubbock, Texas, had the top ride of the night at 87. Will Lowe of Canyon, Texas scored a 75 on a horse named Drummer Boy.

Like many PRCA competitors, Glause’s passion for the sport began when he was just a toddler.

“I grew up around rodeo and stuff and it’s all I’ve ever wanted to do,” said the 22-year-old Glause. “My dad (Tom Glause) rode saddle bronc horses, so I just kind of followed in his footsteps.

“I don’t feel too much pressure,” Seth said. “My dad has always supported me doing this and growing up he gave me a great opportunity to be in a lot of junior rodeos. He also provided me the opportunity to be on the professional rodeo circuit like I am now.” Glause is presently 15th in the PRCA world bull riding standings with $55,909 in prize money. If Glause can stay in the Top 15, he will qualify for the prestigious National Finals Rodeo Dec. 2–11 in Las Vegas.

“I’m just trying to get a little bit more money won so I can secure a spot to this year’s NFR,” Glause said.

Glause has qualified for the NFR once, back in 2008. He finished 15th in the world and pocketed $92,538 in prize money.

“Saddle bronc is way harder than riding bulls because saddle bronc riding is so technical,” the 6-foot-1, 170-pound Glause said. “You have to worry about doing so many things in eight seconds when you’re saddle bronc riding and if one thing goes wrong, it screws up your entire ride. Bull riding, you just have to go out there and work your butt off for eight seconds and sometimes things work and sometimes they do not. Horses, though, are not looking to come run your butt over, where bulls are looking for their chance to run you over.” If riding bulls and broncs isn’t challenging enough, Glause also has to keep his head from spinning as he says he will compete in around 120 rodeos this year.

“It seems like I’m never home and there are a lot of all night drives and jumping on planes,” Glause said. “It can get a little crazy, but this is what I’ve always wanted to do.” (article link)

Read Full Post »