Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 2nd, 2010

Eskridge, Kansas has a rodeo that I have never been to before so I thought I would enter.  I had been Blessed to be winning a lot lately so I figured I would try my hand at the rodeo put on by C-R Mckellips out of Missouri.  I showed up a little late and couldn’t find the arena. I found it right smack dab in the middle of town, but getting to it was a chore.  Apparently the police don’t take kindly to people driving down the wrong way of a one way street to try and get to the arena gate.  I was instructed to drive clear around town to get to the arena gate (which was literally 100 feet in front of me at this point).  After I did this and I got parked in the contestant parking (which was in some fellas back yard) I made my way to the arena just before the Grand Entry went in.  I paid my fees and found my horse.  It was a horse I had seen once, a red roan that has a real big rear out and he is just good to get on. Everyone said it was a good match for me and I should win the rodeo. I was hoping they were right.

I saddled Roanie with no problems and climbed in. I got my stirrups and got ready to nod.  I was prepared for a big entrance into the arena after my nod and I was not disappointed.  I marked the horse out and made sure to keep my feet planted firmly in his neck as to not miss my mark out during the rear out.  I was sitting good and was ready for the rest of the ride.  Roanie made a big jump and kicked high, I pulled my feet back to reset them in his neck. When I set my feet in his neck I realized that my left stirrup was not on my foot.  This is a disqualification. I decided to continue to make the ride (just in case the judge didn’t see it come off, although it was pretty obvious that it did, but ya never know). The horse was bucking pretty good, I was spurring really good with my right foot, and was doing ok with my left, considering I didn’t have a stirrup on it.  When the 8 second buzzer sounded I decided to just bail off the horse. Riding and spurring a bronc with only one stirrup is a lot of work and I had enough of it.  I walked back hoping to hear a score and not see a yellow flag on the ground but the judge saw my stirrup come off and I got a zero.  Everybody behind the chutes didn’t see the stirrup come off and congratulated me on a good spur ride and asked why I got a zero. I told them why, and some of the younger guys couldn’t believe I rode that good with only one stirrup, I just laughed and said I didn’t want to hit the ground at my age.  I was disappointed that I didn’t win anything but I know that everything happens for a reason and it is all part of God’s Plan. Until next time God Bless and be safe On The Rodeo Road.

Read Full Post »